First Day of Ideal Protein Diet

12/9/2011                                                                                            Starting weight: 249 pounds

Yesterday I loaded up on enough food packets and supplements to last me for a week when I will go back to the doctor’s office and be weighed and measured.  I expect to lose at least 10 pounds this first week.  Unrealistic you say?  I don’t think so!!!  I have been eating like there is no tomorrow for quite some time and my body shows it as evidenced by my weight above.  If I was 7 feet tall that weight wouldn’t be so bad.  But I’m not 7 feet tall, I am on the short side of 5 feet 6 inches (it is actually 5 feet 5 ¾ inches but we will roundup for the sake of evenness).  So without those extra calories and salt-saturated/sugar-soaked junk foods my body should just drop the weight extremely fast.  That’s what I am hoping for anyway.  If there was a magic pill I could take that would just melt the fat off, I would take it. I hate having to give up all that wonderful tasting food.  And let’s not kid ourselves, sugar, salt and fat together make things not only taste extremely good, they create all sorts of feel-good chemicals that float around in our brains and make us feel euphoric. Just the thought…  Oh, I forgot to mention about my blood sugar levels when I was at the doctor’s office!  I am now borderline diabetic which is another very good reason to get my weight under control.

So today I organized my supplements & my medications by doling them out in a pill-minder that holds 7 days worth of pills divided into 4 separate time slots. I will discuss what I take and when I take them in a future post.

My normal breakfast is 2 scrambled eggs with melted American Cheese, bacon or sausage and sometimes toast slathered in butter with a Diet Coke to wash it all down.  So I chose the Fine Herbs & Cheese Omelet Mix as my breakfasts for all 7 days.  I’m counting on them tasting close enough to what I had been eating that I won’t feel deprived.  Breakfast has always been my favorite meal of the day so I need something that is filling and satisfying.  The packet didn’t taste exactly like eggs with cheese but it certainly is filling. Even though the plan says not to drink soda, I am still going to drink my Diet Cokes.  I don’t want to give them up just yet, maybe in the future.  I like the caffeine & the fizziness and it has been my go-to-drink for years now so I’m not ready to give up on them.

Lunch was a packet of Broccoli and Cheese Soup Mix, a lettuce salad with 1 cup of raw broccoli, ¼ cup sliced radishes, ½ cup of cauliflower that I then cooked, 2 tablespoons of jalapeno peppers and 2 tablespoons of green onion.  I mixed some olive oil & cider vinegar for a dressing.  Didn’t like that dressing at all but I am really trying not to use my regular Ranch Dressing because it DOES have sugar in it.  Will have to try to figure out something else to put on my salads.

Supper was 8 ounces (raw weight) of sirloin steak, a lettuce salad with ½ cup of cauliflower, ½ cup green bell pepper, ½ cup broccoli with olive oil, vinegar, sea salt, garlic, hot sauce, mustard, Splenda dressing.

I also had some snacks of a Chocolate bar & some Southwest Cheese flavored Protein Curls. Because I am so heavy, my doctor wanted me to have 2 snacks a day.  At some point I will only be able to have 1 snack a day but I will enjoy the 2 snacks for now.

I am full.  I feel totally satisfied and am glad the food tastes as good as it does.  PLUS I managed to drink 80 ounces of water.  I am supposed to drink at least 64 ounces of water each day and if I drink 12 ounces of Diet Coke I also should drink another 12 ounces of water.  I am floating and will be up all night visiting my lovely bathroom, I am sure!

Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

