Exercise

12/19/2011

I just remembered a discussion I had with my doctor at the initial visit that resulted in me going on this diet and I wanted to share it with you.

What did I just hear my doctor say?  Could I possibly be hearing her wrong?  Do I need to get my hearing rechecked?  She just told me not to exercise as hard as I have been doing. WHAT?!?!  We had been talking about different ways to bring my blood pressure down and I said I currently exercise for about 30 minutes every other day on the elliptical machine at a very intense pace.  She asked me if I get really sweaty and out of breath and I said “Of course!”.  When a person is as heavy as I am and we go at any pace other than a shuffle for any period longer than 2 minutes, then we are going to out of breath and sweaty!  She told me to slow it down.  A nice slow walk would do nicely.  The reason – I will be consuming a minimal amount of calories, not enough to fuel my body to do strenuous exercise.

So I slowed down.  I am still doing the elliptical but not at the same pace and not for the same length of time.  I still push beyond a slow walk but I only do it for 15 minutes every other day.  I don’t mind doing it for that length of time so it doesn’t seem to be quite the chore it was before.  And I know I sleep better when I get some exercise in.

Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

