02/10/2012

Finally! My body finally stopped insisting it was going to stay at 220 pounds and released some weight…yeah!!!  I am down to 218.8 this morning and am thrilled about it.  I am thinking that my next stall will be at 190 because I was at that weight for about 2 years.

I am so glad I didn’t get frustrated and give up.  In the past I would have just said “Oh, well, I’m not losing weight on this stupid diet so I might as well just give up and eat everything in sight!”   I now realize how self-destructive that type of thinking is.  I would have to liken my eating to someone who is addicted to drugs. First I was in denial that the food I was eating were harmful to me because they actually gave me a “high”.  When I was tired I would reach for some chocolate…lots of chocolate.  Or I would eat sweet rolls with lots of icing on them PLUS I would slather them with real butter.  And I mean slather!  I once suddenly realized I had used 1/2 of a stick of butter on one sweet roll…that is 1/4 cup of butter on one roll.  How sick is that?!?!  Or potato chips…a whole bag of chips was easy to consume.  But then, of course, I would have to have something sweet to follow-up the chips.  You know, salty then sweet.  When I was bored I would eat and when I felt sad I would eat.  There were a myriad of reasons to reach for those incredibly-bad-for-me food items that seemed to make me feel better.  But then I would just crave them even more.  Almost to the point of not eating anything else. 😦

I would acknowledge that I was overweight but the reality was/is that I am actually OBESE!  And along with being obese there were many health problems.  I have had high blood pressure for many years and have been on meds for it a long time, two of them in fact.  But they weren’t working as well as they had been and my blood pressure was working itself back up to higher and higher levels again. My cholesterol was being controlled by meds but I began having an adverse reaction to them when the dosage was raised. The dosage was raised because I had some serious indications that I was in peril of developing coronary artery disease.  And then I had a blood test done that indicated my blood sugar levels were approaching the dangerous level…I could very well develop full-blown diabetes.  That’s what happens when we try to kill our pancreas with all the crap we are eating!  And yet, I couldn’t seem to stop eating it.  It was like I was compelled to eat it.  The cravings were intense for all the wrong foods…usually sugary, fatty foods.  Lots of carbohydrates and lots of fat…a deadly combination that encourages our bodies to store fat!  Read Dr. Tran Tien Chanh’s (the originator of the Ideal Protein Diet) book to really start to understand what is happening to our bodies when we eat these foods and what we can do about it.  It’s a very simple read and will help you understand your body a little better.  Here is the link:  The Unbalanced Diet Approach to a Slimmer You

I am so glad my wonderful doctor introduced me to the Ideal Protein Diet!  I am finding different ways to deal with my issues now.  When I am tired I take a nap or at least sit in my recliner and close my eyes for a few minutes.  When I am bored I find ways to keep myself occupied like watch a program I have recorded, go for a walk outside, call a friend, read a book, work on a project or work on my blog. 🙂  When I am depressed I call a friend, ask my husband for a big hug, exercise a little bit or I could seek medical help.  I try to think of ways to meet those feelings/needs in ways other than eating something that doesn’t help my body to function well.

I can’t say it enough…if you are willing to stick to the Ideal Protein Diet protocol and not cheat (and I DO mean even one or two bites of an off-protocol item) you WILL lose weight!!!   Try it for yourself and let me know how you are doing.

Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

