05/21/2012

Life has been extremely busy & stressful lately.  I do the daycare for two of my grandchildren (4-year-old boy & 6-month-old girl) during the week.  We also just moved my Dad (who has dementia)  to a senior independent living place which is closer to me and he has forgotten he agreed to move so has been reacting very badly to the move. PLUS there are ballgames for all 4 grandchildren, running back & forth to Dad’s former house (a 45 minute drive each way), keeping up with the normal day-to-day chores, etc…sigh.

So, amidst all that is going on, I am still staying on-protocol.  There have been a number of times I have thought for a second about just grabbing something quick to eat, like a sandwich, but have resisted that urge and have taken the time to fix and eat the proper foods.   This week is filled with appointments with doctors for my Dad & for myself besides all the other things going on so I need to take the time to pre-plan my meals so I don’t end up hungry and without my food.

I had my 3 week weigh-in last Thursday.  I am down another 6 pounds!  My official weight is now 186.6 pounds…a loss of 62.8 pounds since December 9, 2011.  I am actually beginning to feel pretty good about how I look.  I feel lighter. My knees don’t hurt as much when I climb stairs. It’s easier to get out of my chair to chase the 4-year-old.  I am off all meds except for my blood pressure meds and they have been cut to almost nothing.  All good things!

I got to try 2 new products this week that are fabulous!  The Chicken Ala King (which I, of course, have ramped up) & the Strawberry Wafers (nice & crispy with lots of sweetness).  Will try to post my recipe for the Chicken Ala King when I have a few extra moments…IF I ever have a few extra moments! 

I also was able to buy the new cookbook written by Chef Verati.  The recipes are created for people who are in Phase 1 & Phase 2 for their protein & veggie meal.  Each recipe feeds 4 people and each serving contains the protein we need to eat along with the 2 cups of vegetables we need to eat for that meal.  The recipes look great!  They use a lot of Walden Farms products so if you don’t have a source close to you, then order them from netrition.com…the delivery fee is only $4.95 for any size order delivered in the US.  I ordered a bunch of stuff last week and am anxiously awaiting the delivery so I can try some of the recipes in the cookbook!  Chef Verati also uses lots of celery root in his recipes.  I have never prepared or eaten this vegetable so it will be interesting to see if I like it.  Last night I tried the Crispy Chicken on page 83 which is prepared with the Ideal Protein Salt & Vinegar Ridges.  I had my own vegetables instead of preparing what he suggested.  I really liked the chicken with that extra crunch I have been missing. Yum! And I have enough chicken for 3 more meals…excellent!!!

Hope you are having as much success as I am on this wonderful plan!  Let me know what you think about the new products.

2 Responses to “05/21/2012”

  1. Robin Smith Says:

    Thanks for the posting. I just started the program and I’m on Day 4. You have so much going on with your grandkids and your dad (sorry to hear about his health). I just lost my dad last Nov and help take care of my mom so I can feel for you. I also just logged onto the Sparkpeople group. I am looking for support & ideas to get thru this last diet attempt! Best wishes, Robin

    • Nan Says:

      Good luck on your weightloss journey too! I know you can be successful as long as you stick with the protocol. Sometimes it is tough when we are super busy because it is far easier to just give in to the easiness (is that even a word?) of convenience food. But put the work in and stick with the diet and you can lose all the weight you want to lose with Ideal Protein.


Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

