05/25/2012

I have been steadily losing weight for almost 6 months now.  I have been absolutely thrilled with the rate I am losing and how fun it is to get into smaller and smaller clothes.  But sometimes I am puzzled about why other people don’t seem to notice the changes that are so obvious to me.

My husband is really good about telling me how great I am looking (I have trained him well). My Dad, who I see about once a month, didn’t notice until he wanted me to eat dinner with him and I told him I couldn’t and he wanted to know why.  One of my brothers didn’t see me for 4 months and didn’t say a word (but he is really self-absorbed so I can understand). Plus I excused them both because they are male and can’t help not noticing massive pounds gone.

But I thought the women in my family would surely notice the weightloss.  The last time I saw two of my aunts (on my father’s side of the family) was last year on June 22nd at my Mom’s funeral.  I weighed 249.4 pounds.  I saw them both for the first time since then on May 5th and neither of them seemed to notice that I had lost over 60 pounds.  At least they didn’t say anything about it.  Now how can two women not notice 60 pounds gone?!?!  It’s not like either of them are shy about saying anything to me because they aren’t. Did they just not notice how big I was last year?  I don’t know, maybe.

I have another aunt (on my mom’s side of the family) I hadn’t seen for that same time period and she noticed and said something right away.  She was really pleased with how good I was looking and gave me lots of praise.  She is my favorite aunt!

So it is a good thing I don’t need motivation from other people to continue on this weightloss journey!  I would be quitting in no time because people don’t always notice what is happening around them even to people they love and care about. Or maybe it is BECAUSE they love and care about me that they don’t necessarily notice my outer appearance but are more focused on what is on the inside of me, my character.  Not a bad thing I guess.  Even though it IS fun when someone is totally shocked when they see me for the first time in a long time 🙂

2 Responses to “05/25/2012”

  1. Robin Says:

    I totally know what you mean! I have always made a point to tell someone when I notice they lost weight. I guess because I know what a BIG deal and how hard it is. I get so proud for someone else since I always struggle myself. I just had my first weight in and lost 6 3/4. Now, starting at 212 no one will noticed. But, in a way, I was hoping someone would say something since I wore a skort yesterday and a tighter fitting blouse to work instead of baggy clothes. But, like you, I don’t need motivation from others. I am totally motivated. I was just thinking this same thing while laying in bed this morning. Maybe the way we see ourselves is not how others see us. So, if we lose weight it’s not a big deal to anyone but us because it doesn’t bother anyone but us?? I, too, wonder at what point someone will notice the new me. I don’t think I’ll ever hear the words “you’re too thin” and that’s ok. That’s not the goal anyway (but just once would love to hear that)! Just keep doing what you’re doing!

    • Nan Says:

      Thanks Robin! I will say the same to you…keep doing what you are doing and enjoy learning about yourself as you shed those pounds. Thanks for reblogging my post.


Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

