06/10/2012

I have known for a couple of weeks that I will probably need to have some major surgery done before too long.  It is possible it may happen in a couple of weeks so I need to start preparing for it.  I discussed it with my primary care physician and she strongly recommended that I phase off of the diet as she was concerned that my body wouldn’t be able to process the vegetable load post-surgery.  Since she is the one who oversees the Ideal Protein clinic that I participate in, I thought it was a good idea to follow her suggestion.

I did one day of Phase 2 on Thursday and then jumped right into Phase 3 on Friday so that I have a better chance of being on Phase 3 for two full weeks.  I have been reading a lot about people who don’t complete the two weeks on Phase 3 and they later struggle with gaining a lot of the weight back because they didn’t wake the pancreas in a controlled manner.  I don’t want to be in that position. So I am giving myself the best chance by completing Phase 3 in it’s entirety…all two weeks of it, hopefully.

Once I have recovered from my surgery, I fully intend to get back into Phase 1 and complete my weightloss journey.  I want to lose another 35 – 40 pounds to be at my best and healthiest weight. I am hoping by doing  Phase 3 correctly I won’t have the struggle of re-entering the protocol that some people have after falling off the diet.  I guess only time will tell.

I have now eaten three Phase 3 breakfasts and, I have to tell you, I feel like I am cheating on the diet. I actually had bread two mornings…toasted no less! The first breakfast was a little heavy on fat but it was something I have been dreaming about since I started this diet so I went ahead and ate it.  I will tweak it to make it less fatty but it tasted so-o-o-o good!

When I stepped on the scale the last 3 mornings I thought for sure I would have gained a little weight because of the breakfasts I have eaten but I actually have continued to lose.  I’ve lost a total of another 8/10’s of a pound the last 2 mornings!   I am now down to 177.8 pounds…yeah!!!   I know from what others have written that I will probably gain 5 pounds or so because my body will start storing glycogen again and that causes some gain.  But I will not worry about it at this point because I have an ultimate goal of being much, much lighter at a future date.  This is just a temporary bump in the road.

Stay tuned for future updates.

Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

