06/20/2012

I saw the surgeon on Monday (June 18th) and my surgery is scheduled for July 2nd.  That means I WILL be able to complete two full weeks of Phase 3 before the surgery happens! And to top it all off, he has said I do NOT need to be on any special diet…so I am going back to eating my raw vegetables…YIPEE!!!

I will now be able to eat my big lettuce salad for lunch with more raw vegetables and my own Orange Dressing recipe.  This makes me so-o-o-o happy!  I wouldn’t have believed someone if they had told me 6 months ago that I would be so excited about being able to eat a salad for lunch.  Makes me laugh when I think about it.

The final day for Phase 3 will be June 28th and then I will go on to Phase 4 eating.  My hope is to maintain while I heal from the surgery and then get back on Phase 1 to finish getting the final 35 – 40 pounds off.  While I would have preferred to finish the weightloss before phasing off, sometimes we just have to go-with-the-flow while we deal with what happens in our lives. That’s just life, so I’m doing my best to not let it derail all the hard work I have already done.  And today is going to be a GOOD day!

2 Responses to “06/20/2012”

  1. Anne Says:

    Hi, Nan. I am new to the diet and just wanted to say thank you for your blog (I am also new to blogs!). I have not been losing weight as quickly as I thought I would, and, given the expense, I have found that discouraging. I can lose 2 pounds per week on weight watchers, and it wouldn’t cost me nearly as much money as this does. I am sticking with it based on your blog–or at least I am sticking with it for a while longer. Thanks! Hope your surgery went well and that you have a speedy recovery. Anne

    • Nan Says:

      Thanks Anne! I know this diet is more expensive than other diets but I have found it to be so incredibly effective in getting my excess weight off that I am willing to pay the money. And the on-going cost won’t be forever. I will eventually be able to eat regular food and won’t have the cost of IP anymore.

      I think that sometimes we have unrealistic expectations of how fast we will lose the weight. I know when I first started, the weight was coming off at a very fast clip and then it seemed it got slower and slower. I would get a little discouraged because I had the expectation that I would continue to lose at the same rate the whole time I was on the diet. I have learned that isn’t realistic and I need to to stay on-protocol and just allow my body to lose at it’s own rate and not get so uptight about not losing faster.

      I am recovering very well from my surgery, thanks for the well-wishes. Hopefully, I will find some time to sit down and blog soon.
      Good luck on your own weightloss journey!
      Nan


Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

