09-25-2012

I keep fighting the SAME battle over & over & over again!  I get exhausted from working so hard and decide to take a day off and rest.  I do great with my eating until mid-afternoon and then I need to forage.  It is just a good thing I don’t keep many off-protocol foods in the house because I would eat every one of them!

I know intellectually what my problem is…I’m overly tired, stressed and a little depressed because of all the responsibilities I have regarding my dad.  So what I NEED to do is take a stupid nap!  What I do instead is try to make myself feel better by eating.  And, if I have simple carbs available to eat, it really DOES make me feel better for a little while because of all those wonderful feel-good brain chemicals they create.  Since I have very few simple carbs in the house any more I even thought about getting in the car and driving to the store to buy some…but I didn’t do it.  I tried a few sugar-free things because I was hoping if I could just satisfy the cravings they would go away.  But it wasn’t the flavor I was after, it was the sugar rush…UGH!

I came through ok THIS time and ended up eating a few sugar-free candies and an extra restricted IP item.  This battle is so frustrating to me because it is such a recurring theme in my life and I want to change how I respond to it.  Instead of turning to food, I want to instinctively turn to rest or exercise or even therapy if need be.  Getting to that point is my goal for now but, in the meantime, I’m sure I will need to continue to fight this battle over & over again until seeking comfort in ways other than eating becomes second nature to me.

How about you?  Do you struggle with this problem too?

2 Responses to “09-25-2012”

  1. Mary Says:

    Hi, just stumbled upon your blog…i’m on IP too…I’m on my 9th week. I thought I would say hi and give you a bit of encouragement! You are doing GREAT on IP…Keep it up!!!

    • Nan Says:

      Thanks for stopping by and thanks so much for the encouragment! Good luck on your own journey!!!


Would love to hear from you...please leave a comment!

